The Village of Empress

is situated on the West side of the Alberta/Saskatchewan border and serves as a center to the surrounding farming and ranching community of 1,500 people. It has been a focal point for many activities in the area. It is also at the geographical center of many large cities in Western Canada: Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon and Regina.

Council Committee Appointments

2015/16 Board and Committee Appointments

  • Acadia Foundation – Beverley Farnden
  • Assessment Review Board – Beverly Farnden, Daryl Swenson, Charmain Snell, Lois Bedwell, Stacey Wiechnik, Brenda Knapik
  • Palliser Regional Municipal Services – Chad Van Dam-alternate Arlen Johnston
  • Palliser Economic Partnership – Arlen Johnston, CAO Ross
  • SAMDA – Beverley Farnden,-alternate Council rep – Arlen Johnston, CAO Ross, Dawna Martin
  • Empress Municipal Library – Arlen Johnston
  • Big Country Waste Management – Chad Van Dam
  • Municipal Planning Commission – Arlen Johnston- Beverley Farnden, Dawna Martin
  • Subdivision & Development Appeal Board – Chad Van Dam
  • Oyen & District Health Foundation – Beverley Farnden
  • Red Deer River Watershed – Beverly Farnden-alternate – Arlen Johnston
  • Disaster Services – Chad Van Dam, Beverley Farnden, Arlen Johnston
  • Canadian Badlands – Chad Van Dam,  Arlen Johnston, CAO Ross
  • Big Country Medical Dental Board – Chad Van Dam
  • FCSS – Beverley Farnden-Alternate – Chad Van Dam, Jodi Hickie, Helen Markussen-Brown, Carrie Loose, Jerry Congram,
  • Mayor and Reeves – Chad Van Dam
  • Director of Disaster Services – CAO Debbie Ross
  • Deputy Director of Disaster Services – Chad Van Dam
  • Development Officer – CAO Debbie Ross
  • FOIP Coordinator – CAO Debbie Ross
  • Marigold Library Board – Sheila Howe-alternate – Dayna Van Dam
  • Subdivision & Development Appeal Board – appointed as required
  • Municipal Library Board – Maureen Booker, Violet Lohr, Sheila Howe, Dayna Van Dam, Gerry Lown, Gerry Congram, Diane Jarvis


Contact our Village Office:

Phone: (403) 565-3938
Fax: (403) 565-2010

Box 159, #6 – 3rd Avenue
Empress, Alberta T0J 1E0

Copyright © 2017. Village of Empress.